Join Today! Become A Baseball America Insider

2018-19 MLB International Bonus Pools

Teams received their bonus pools for the 2018-19 international signing period, which opens on July 2. 

The bonus pools increased from the current 2017-18 signing period, the first year under the bonus pools with hard spending caps when each team received a pool allotment of either $4.75 million, $5.25 million or $5.75 million. 

Eight teams will still be in the second and final year of the penalty for exceeding their bonus pools in 2016-17, which means they won’t be able to sign any player for a bonus of more than $300,000. 

Teams are allowed to trade up for an additional 75 percent of their bonus pool allotment, with trades permitted in $250,000 increments. So a team with a $6,025,400 pool could trade for up to $10,544,450, while the teams at $4,983,500 can trade up to an $8,721,125 pool.

The Phillies have the lowest bonus pool ($3,949,000), as they lost $1 million from their pool for signing Jake Arrieta and Carlos Santana as qualifying offer free agents. They can trade up to a $6,910,750 pool.

Bonuses of $10,000 or less are exempt from the pools, as are players with who are at least 25 and have played at least six seasons in a foreign professional league. 



$6,025,400 bonus pool

Cincinnati Reds ($300K penalty)

Miami Marlins

Milwaukee Brewers

Minnesota Twins

Oakland Athletics ($300K penalty)

Tampa Bay Rays 

$5,504,500 bonus pool

Arizona Diamondbacks

Baltimore Orioles

Cleveland Indians

Colorado Rockies

Kansas City Royals

Pittsburgh Pirates

San Diego Padres ($300K penalty)

St. Louis Cardinals ($300K penalty)

Test Story

At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores et quas molestias excepturi sint occaecati cupiditate non provident, similique sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollitia animi, id est laborum et dolo

$4,983,500 bonus pool

Atlanta Braves ($300K penalty)

Boston Red Sox

Chicago Cubs

Chicago White Sox ($300K penalty)

Detroit Tigers

Houston Astros ($300K penalty)

Los Angeles Angels

Los Angeles Dodgers

New York Yankees

New York Mets

Seattle Mariners

San Francisco Giants

Texas Rangers

Toronto Blue Jays

Washington Nationals ($300K penalty) 

$3,949,000 bonus pool

Philadelphia Phillies

Are you a member?

In order to access this exclusive content you must have a Baseball America Account. 

Login or sign up  

of Free Stories Remaining